The Black Seeds

Formed in 1998, The Black Seeds are a globally successful reggae, funk, dub and rock crossover band from Wellington.

The band line-up comprises Barnaby Weir (vocals, guitar), Daniel Weetman (vocals, percussion), Tim Jaray (bass), Jarney Murphy (drums), Mike Fabulous (guitar, percussion) and Nigel Patterson (keyboards), supported by a rotating roster of session musicians. Past members of The Black Seeds have included Bret McKenzie, Shannon Williams, Rich Christie and Andrew Christiansen.

Rusted Story (Live at the NZ Music Awards 2012)
Barnaby Weir talks about the beginnings of The Black Seeds
Jarney Murphy
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
Keep On Pushing
Mike Fabulous talks The Black Seeds on NZOWN
Sometimes Enough
iframe width='585px' height='410px' src='' frameborder='0' allowfullscreen>
Making Music - The Black Seeds (arts documentary)
The Answer
Love Me Now
Cracks In Our Crown
The Black Seeds
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
Nigel Patterson
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
So True
Real Groove, August 2006
Hey Son
Pippy Pip
Dust And Dirt (live at Lowlands 2012)

Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa

Capitol Records

Best Seven

Easy Star Records

Remote Control Records

Proville Records


Barnaby Weir - vocals, guitar

Mike Fabulous - guitar, vocals

Jarney Murphy - drums

Nigel Patterson - keyboards

Daniel Weetman - vocals, mpc, percussion

Tim Jaray - bass

Funded by

Partners with