The Black Seeds Profile

Martyn Pepperell
Published: 14 May 2013
Updated: 12 Feb 2020

Formed in 1998, The Black Seeds are a globally successful reggae, funk, dub and rock crossover band from Wellington.

The band line-up comprises Barnaby Weir (vocals, guitar), Daniel Weetman (vocals, percussion), Tim Jaray (bass), Jarney Murphy (drums), Mike Fabulous (guitar, percussion) and Nigel Patterson (keyboards), supported by a rotating roster of session musicians. Past members of The Black Seeds have included Bret McKenzie, Shannon Williams, Rich Christie and Andrew Christiansen.

Read more +
Love Me Now
So True
Making Music - The Black Seeds (arts documentary)
Rusted Story (Live at the NZ Music Awards 2012)
Nigel Patterson
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
Jarney Murphy
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
The Black Seeds
Photo credit: Photo by Georgia Schofield
Real Groove, August 2006
Sometimes Enough
The Answer
Mike Fabulous talks The Black Seeds on NZOWN
Barnaby Weir talks about the beginnings of The Black Seeds
Pippy Pip
Cracks In Our Crown
Hey Son
Dust And Dirt (live at Lowlands 2012)
Keep On Pushing

Loop Recordings

Capitol Records

Best Seven

Easy Star Records

Remote Control Records

Proville Records


Barnaby Weir - vocals, guitar

Mike Fabulous - guitar, vocals

Jarney Murphy - drums

Nigel Patterson - keyboards

Daniel Weetman - vocals, mpc, percussion

Tim Jaray - bass