The Remarkables

Palmerston North band The Remarkables – with Chris Heaphy (guitar, vocals), Alan Gregg (keyboards, bass), Paul Westbury (guitar) and Brendan Conlan (drums) – were the lower North Island university city’s response to the national outpouring of guitar based indie rock in the mid-1980s.

They placed second in the Massey University 1985 Orientation Battle of the Bands and used winner The Mannequins’ (who’d split up) studio time to record the Waiting For A Wave EP for new indie Meltdown Records, set up by Peter Shepherd in 1985.

The Remarkables: Alan Gregg, Brendan Conlon, Chris Heaphy and Paul Westbury
Photo credit: Simon Grigg collection
Vegetarian/Skin Condition 7-inch 1986
Meltdown Town compilation from Meltdown Records, 1987
The Remarkables: Chris Heaphy, Alan Gregg, Paul Westbury and Zane Greig
Photo credit: Simon Grigg collection

Chris Heaphy recorded with Roy Montgomery as Dissolve and is a well-regarded visual artist.

Alan Gregg became bass player for The Mutton Birds, fronted by former Blam Blam Blam member Don McGlashan.


Chris Heaphy - guitar, vocals

Paul Westbury - guitar

Alan Gregg - keyboards, bass

Brendan Conlon - drums

Zane Greig - drums

Funded by

Partners with