The Weeds Profile

Andrew Schmidt
19 Jun 2013

Dunedin supergroup The Weeds were Michael Morley (bass, vocals), Shayne Carter (guitar, vocals), Robert Scott (guitar, bass, vocals) and on drums, Jeff Harford, Chris Healey or John Collie.

Sometimes they played in their underwear and in 1985 they released the raucous folk-blues ‘Wheatfields’ as a one-off single, flipped with a live take on Elvis Presley’s ‘Trouble’ on Flying Nun Records.

Show more +
Hero thumb a1065
The Weeds at Otago Uni, 1985
EmbeddableItem EmbeddableItem! type = Person
Hero thumb the weeds nz wheatfields flying nun records
Hero thumb v19
1985 Verlaines, Rip and Weeds poster
3 col el, class=LabelPerson::ActiveRecord_Associations_CollectionProxy 3 col el, class=Trivia::ActiveRecord_Associations_CollectionProxy

Richard Emerson who took the photo on this page later went on to found the famous Dunedin brewers Emerson's

3 col el, class=CollaborationPerson::ActiveRecord_Associations_CollectionProxy

Shayne Carter - guitar, vocals

John Collie - drums

Jeff Harford - drums

Chris Healey - drums

Michael Morley - guitar, vocals

Robert Scott - bass, vocals